Life is no highway…

It’s been awhile, I know. So much for writing here frequently, eh? Last night, I had the strangest dream, which I’ve decided to share.

I was in sixth grade again, and I was walking home from school. Crossing the road, I was hit by a car, and I died. Instead of being ‘dead,’ though, I was reborn. I had the opportunity to start over from the day one.

Eventually, eleven years passed and I was in sixth grade again. Somehow, I also had all my memories from my previous life. I was thinking, “I have to do things differently. Here I am, and here’s my chance to change what happened before. I have to stop myself from being hit by that car.”

I look back and analyze this dream, and I definitely think there is symbolism within it. For me, everything changed in sixth grade. I was always a loner, but I became more of a loner in sixth grade. Sixth grade was the year of extraordinary changes. I went off to middle school, where I was teased repeatedly in the public school. There were times I would stay home sick, just because of the teasing.

Eventually, in January of my sixth grade year, I ended up transferring to a private school. In the end, I’m not sure if this was the best thing for me or not. Yes, I had the opportunity to have an amazing band instructor, but I missed out on many of the opportunities I could have had in the public school. At the time, I was emotionally unstable, and who knows what would have happened to me.

The end of the dream ended with me going into seventh grade at the public school. The second time around, I managed to make it past the car crash and life continued.

Obviously, there’s no turn around in life. I can’t go back, and I can’t change what already is. Only in dreams can one change the past. You can only go forward, not backward. Life is not a highway; there are no easy exits where you get off and turn around. You can only keep going. Sorry, Tom Cochrane.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

